and Kinross Library Opening times
in February 2010, the Kinross (Marshall) Museum is located in the Loch
Leven Community Campus at the north end of Kinross. It takes its name
from the noted local antiquarian David Marshall (1831-1902) who amassed
a huge collection of books and artefacts which he left to the people of
Kinross in his will. This collection was originally housed in the Kinross
Carnegie Library which was built in 1905, but it was not until 1974 that
an accessible museum was created above the Carnegie Library with assistance
from the Kinross-shire Historical Society. This facility was closed by
Perth and Kinross Council in 1996. A year later the Kinross (Marshall)
Museum was created as a charitable trust with the aim of opening a new
Museum for the benefit of the local community and visitors to Kinross.
Funded by donations, Friends of Kinross Museum subscriptions and grants from other charitable trusts, the Museum mounts a changing programme of exhibitions in the Community Campus Library, drawing on its collections of artefacts, manuscripts, photographs, books and historic maps and plans. In addition to this, it engages with the community through school links, adult learning events, reminiscence group meetings and research projects that aim to explore the historic heritage of Kinross-shire. Museum volunteers also respond to research enquiries from all corners of the world.
telephone 01577 867153